India Sports

T20 World Cup Trophy

The sponsors unveiled the glittering trophy of the Twenty20 World Cup 2012, which will commence from 18th September 2012 in Sri Lanka. The silver and rhodium trophy weighs at 7.5 kilograms and is 51 centimeter tall. It will be awarded to the winners of the T20 World Cup on 7th October 2012 at the Premadasa Stadium in Colombo, Sri Lanka.

The trophy was showcased in Delhi by Former Skipper Sourav Ganguly and former batsman-turned commentator Sanjay Manjrekar. They unveiled the gleaming trophy and spoke to media persons. In 2007, India had won the inaugural edition of the tournament back in South Africa.

In the end, the 2012 T20 World Cup trophy was ceremoniously accepted at the Bandaranaike International Airport in Sri Lanka at the completion of its global tour. Emirates, the official carrier for the ICC World T20, delivered the trophy to the host country and were received by the CEO of Sri Lanka Cricket Ajit Jayasakera and ICC World Twenty20 tournament director Upekha Nell.

Later in the day, the trophy was carried around in a parade in true Twenty20 spirit and splendor with dancers, drummers and elephants through the streets of Colombo to the Independence Square where they were received by the sports minister Mahindananda Aluthgamage and the Sri Lanka Cricket president Upali Dharmadasa from ICC Chief Executive David Richardson.

Last Updated on 9/27/2012