India ICC World Cup History (1975 till 2015)

Limited over (60 overs) ICC Cricket World Cup started in 1975 and till now 11 such tournaments have been played, the last one being in 2015. The 12th edition of the game (ICC cricket World Cup 2019) will be played in England and Wales during May 30-July 14, 2019.

India won Cricket World Cup twice (in 1983 and 2011). In 2003, Indian Cricket Team reached the finals but lost to Australia. India also reached semifinal stage thrice (during 1987, 1996 and 2015). In 1999, Indian Cricket team reached Super Six stage but lost. During 1975, 1979, 1992 and 2007, the Indian Cricket Team was knocked out in the Group Stage.

2015 ICC Cricket World Cup

Australia and New Zealand hosted the 2015 Cricket World Cup. The tournament was won by Australia by defeating New Zealand. India started their campaign with a 76-run win against their arch-rival Pakistan. The defending champion, India, showed a commendable performance throughout the tournament but lost to Australia in the Semi-final match.

Let’s check the last match performance of Indian Cricket team:

Stage of MatchSemi-Final
StadiumSydney Cricket Ground (Sydney, Australia)
Opponent TeamAustralia
India's PerformanceUT Yadav had a wonderful spell, taking 4 wickets. Dhoni was the only player to score a half century. India crumbled at just 233 runs.
Australia's PerformanceAussies won the toss and chose to bat first. Steve Smith's brilliant century and Aaron Finch's half century helped the team put up a score of 328/7. Excellent bowling by JP Faulkner, MG Johnson, MA Starc, and JR Hazlewood bowled India out at just 233 runs.
India Won/LostLost

History 2011 >