India Sports

IPL 2017

IPL 10 (Indian Premier League 2017)

The Indian Premier League, also known as Vivo IPL 10, is ready to launch its tenth edition, which will be held from 5 April to 21 May, 2017. The Twenty20 cricket tournament is organised by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), and follows the regulations of the IPL Governing Council.

The Indian Premiere League 2017 is being headed by Rajeev Shukla, Chairman of the league.

IPL matches are held all across the country. It has been a trend in the IPL that the city which bags the cup, hosts the opening ceremony of the next series. As Sunrisers Hyderabad are the defending champions, it is expected that the first match would be played at Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium, Hyderabad. The opening ceremony is a gala event and like always this year too it is believed that Bollywood celebrities would give a scintillating performance.

  • Sponsorship: Smartphone manufacturer Vivo will be the title sponsor of the tenth season of the league as well.
  • Broadcasters: Sony Pictures Networks will be the official broadcaster of the tournament.

Participating Teams in IPL 10 2017

IPL History

Founded by the BCCI, the IPL held its first tournament in 2008. Till 2012, IPL was sponsored by DLF, but in 2013, Pepsi took over. Pepsi paid an amount of about $72 million for a contract of five years. However, in 2015, Pepsi pulled out as the sponsor of the mega tournament and instead Chinese smartphone maker Vivo bagged the IPL sponsorship for the next two years.

Spot fixing issues were raised against two teams - Chennai Super Kings and Rajasthan Royals. In 2015, these two teams were suspended for two years and two new franchises were established - Rising Pune Supergiants and Gujarat Lions.

Last Updated on : March 1, 2017