ICC Cricket World Cup 2019: Squads, Captain, Team Players List


  • Rohit Sharma
  • Shikhar Dhawan
  • Virat Kohli (Captain)


  • Vijay Shankar
  • Kedar Jadhav
  • Hardik Pandya
  • Ravindra Jadeja


  • MS Dhoni
  • Lokesh Rahul
  • Dinesh Karthik


  • Kuldeep Yadav
  • Mohammed Shami
  • Jasprit Bumrah
  • Bhuvneshwar Kumar
  • Yuzvendra Chahal

India has been playing in the ICC Cricket World Cup since the very beginning, when it was introduced in the year 1975. The Indian team in the first ever World Cup was led by bowler S. Venkataraghavan. In fact, India had the honour of playing the first match of the first World Cup against England at the Lord's stadium in London. With two losses and a solitary win, India could not make it beyond the group stage.

2019 ICC World Cup Squad

So far, India has bagged the ICC World Cup twice. First they won 1983 World Cup under Kapil Dev's captaincy. Next win came in 2011 World Cup under Mahender Singh Dhoni's captaincy.

2019 World Cup will take place under Virat Kohli's captaincy. The team is ready with the 15 member squad with six batsmen, four all-rounders, and five bowlers. Virat Kohli (Captain), Rohit Sharma (Vice-Captain), Shikhar Dhawan, K.L. Rahul, Mahendra Singh Dhoni (wk), Dinesh Kartik (wk), Kedar Jadhav, Hardik Pandya, Vijay Shankar, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammad Shami, Ravindra Jadeja . Of these, MS Dhoni, Rohit Sharma, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja and Jasprit Bumrah played a key role in the final game of Mumbai Indians vs. Chennai Super Kings in the just concluded 2019 Indian Premier League.

The first match of India is against South Africa on June 5. And the most sought-after match in this tournament i.e. India vs Pakistan is on June 16.

The World Cup is starting in England and Wales from May 30, 2019.