India Sports

IPL Purple Cap Holders List

IPL 2019 Purple Cap Holders

IPL 2018 Purple Cap Holders List

1Andrew Tye14145644824018.6681430
2Rashid Khan17176845821021.86.7319.4200
3Siddarth Kaul17176654721026.048.2818.8500
4Umesh Yadav141453.141820020.97.8615.9500
5Trent Boult141452.446618025.888.8417.5500
6Hardik Pandya131342.438118021.168.9214.2200
7Jasprit Bumrah14145437217021.886.8819.0500
8Sunil Narine16166146717027.477.6521.5200
9Kuldeep Yadav161651.241817024.588.1418.1110
10Shardul Thakur131346.443116026.939.2317.500
11Mayank Markande14144436815024.538.3617.610
12Jofra Archer101038.532515021.668.3615.5300
13Mujeeb Ur Rahman111141.228914020.646.9917.7100
14Shakib Al Hasan17175745614032.57824.4200
15Mitchell McClenaghan11114033214023.718.317.1400
16Piyush Chawla15154941214029.428.42100
17Dwayne Bravo161653.353314038.079.9622.9200
18Andre Russell161537.535513027.39.3817.4600
19Krunal Pandya141340.128412023.667.0720.0800
20Amit Mishra101037264120227.1318.500

The first season of this tournament was played in 2008. For the final match of 2012, the winners were Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) beating Chennai Super Kings (CSK) by five wickets.

Despite the season had a slow start, 2012 IPL 5 managed to garner a higher viewership compared to any IPL edition previously. The players this IPL season showed a unique competitive spirit, where 19 matches were won by teams in last over and six matches were won by the teams with a less than 10 runs margin. The best three teams in the tournament were Kolkata Knight Riders, Delhi Daredevils (DD) and Chennai Super Kings, where Kolkata Knight Riders and Delhi Daredevils suddenly bucked up compared to their performance in the previous four seasons. Rajasthan Royals (RR) won the Fair Play Award. The tournament's rising star was Kings XI Punjab's (KXIP's) batsman Mandeep Singh. Kolkata Knight Riders' bowler Sunil Narine bagged the titled for the Player of the Season.

At the end of every season, the players are awarded with their performance for the whole season and are addressed with a token of admiration as the purple cap holder. The top performers of the 2012 IPL are circulated the purple cap to the best bowler. In simple words, the highest wicket taking bowler in the series is given the purple cap. This season the top three purple cap holders were Morne Morkel (DD) with 25 wickets, Sunil Narine (KKR) with 24 wickets and Lasith Malinga (Mumbai Indians) with 22 wickets.

List of Purple Cap Holders for Eight Consecutive Years


IPL 11 2018 Purple Cap Bowler
Andrew Tye (KXIP) – 24 Wickets

IPL 10 2017 Purple Cap Bowler
Bhuvneshwar Kumar (SRH) – 26 Wickets

IPL 9 2016 Purple Cap Bowler
Bhuvneshwar Kumar (SRH) – 23 Wickets

IPL 8 2015 Purple Cap Bowler
Dwayne Bravo (CSK) - 26 wickets

IPL 7 2014 Purple Cap Bowler
Mohit Sharma (CSK) - 23 wickets

IPL 6 2013 Purple Cap Bowler
Dwayne Bravo (CSK) - 32 Wickets

IPL 5 2012 Purple Cap Bowler
Morne Morkel (DD) - 25 wickets

IPL 4 2011
Lasith Malinga (MI) - 27 wickets

IPL 3 2010
Pragyan Ojha (DC) - 21 wickets

IPL 2 2009
RP Singh (DC) - 23 wickets

IPL 1 2008
Sohail Tanvir (RR) - 22 wickets

Last Updated on :