India Sports

Indian Sports News

How much is India in the filed of sports?

The country of India with its wide range of sports is famous in this field since the Vedic era. The popularity has increased with time though. The nation gained worldwide fame with the implementation of modern facilities. Nowadays, apart from holding an international position in the field of sports, India even hosts a number of international sports events throughout the year.

What is the national sport of India?

The official national game or sport of India is Field Hockey.

What are the other sports prevalent in India?

Besides Field Hockey, Indian sports mainly include sports like Cricket, Badminton, Football, Tennis, Swimming and Volleyball. The country has even got prevalence of games like Rugby, Golf, Snooker, Squash and Billiard, which were brought by the British. Some of the famous traditional sports of India are Kabbadi, Pehlwani, Gilli Danda and Kho Kho.

Which major sports events are held in India?

The country, being an active participant in many sports held all over the world, even hosts and co-hosts numerous national as well as international sports events. Since independence, the famous sports events hosted and co-hosted by India are as follows:

  • Asian Games: 1951
  • Asian Games: 1982
  • Cricket World Cup: 1987
  • Cricket World Cup: 1996
  • Afro-Asian Games: 2003
  • Hockey World Cup: 2010
  • Commonwealth Games: 2010
  • Cricket World Cup: 2011
Apart from the one mentioned earlier, the country is home to innumerable other annual sports events like
  • Delhi Half Marathon
  • Mumbai Marathon
  • Chennai Open
  • Indian Masters
The nation is even the first country to host Indian Grand Prix in the present year 2011.

Which are the most famous sports events among the ones held in India?

The most renowned sports events in India are:

World Cup Cricket:

World Cup Cricket is one of the prestigious events hosted or co-hosted by India from time to time. Recently, 2011 World Cup Cricket was co-hosted by India during the period of 19th February, 2011 to 2nd April, 2011. Besides the final of the 10th edition of the esteemed tournament, which was held in the Wankhade Stadium of Mumbai on April 2 of this year, India even got the opportunity to host 8 other matches that includes the semi-final as well. Those matches were held in the following stadiums of India:
  • Eden Gardens Stadium at Kolkata
  • Feroz Shah Kotla Stadium at New Delhi
  • Sardar Patel Stadium at Ahmedabad
  • M. A. Chidambaram Stadium at Chennai
  • Vidarbha Cricket Association Stadium at Nagpur
  • Punjab Cricket Association Stadium at Mohali
  • M. Chinnaswamy Stadium at Bangalore
  • Wankhede Stadium at Mumbai
Apart from hosting, India even participated in the ICC Cricket World Cup of 2011 as one of the cricket teams. Team India won the final of the 2011 Cricket World Cup by defeating the country of Sri Lanka with 6 wickets. Yuvraj Singh from India was honored as the "Man of the Match". Sachin Tendulkar was made the official ambassador of the ICC Cricket World Cup of 2011 and the Shankar - Ehsaan - Loy trio composed the Hindi version of the promotional song "De Ghuma Ke".

Indian Premier League of Cricket:

Scheduled in between 8th April, 2011 to 22nd May, 2011, IPL (Indian Premier League) of Cricket was hosted by India. Indian Premier League T 20, held annually in the Indian sub-continent during summer, ranks amongst the biggest and known sports events of the world. The names of the teams, which participate in the Indian Premier League of Cricket, are as follows:

  • Chennai Super Kings
  • Deccan Chargers
  • Delhi Daredevils
  • Kolkata Knight Riders
  • Mohali - Kings XI Punjab
  • Mumbai Indians
  • Rajasthan Royals
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • Sahara Pune Warriors
  • Kochi Tuskers Kerala
In the 4th season of the Indian Premier League T 20 in the current year 2011, Royal Challenger Banglore was defeated by the Chennai Super Kings in the final and became the Indian Premier League Champion on 2011.

The next Indian Premier League, which features seventy four games, is scheduled to start from 4th April, 2012 and end on 27th May, 2012 as declared by B. C. C. I. (Board of Control for Cricket of India).

Commonwealth Games:

Commonwealth Games is one of the prestigious sports till date. The last year's (2010) Commonwealth Games, which was officially called as the XIX Commonwealth Games were hosted by the capital city of Delhi in India. The date of the Games was scheduled from 3rd October, 2010 to 14th October, 2010. The event was made more prominent by the participation of 6, 081 athletes, who competed 272 events and 21 sports. All those participants were from 71 Commonwealth dependencies and nations. Opening ceremonies being staged at the event's main stadium Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium, the Commonwealth Games of 2011 was the biggest multi-sport event of international fame to be hosted by Delhi.

Indian Grand Prix:

Indian Grand Prix is the Formula One race to be held on 30th October, 2011. India is the country, who is hosting the first Grand Prix of India at Greater Noida based Buddh International Circuit in the state of Uttar Pradesh in India. The official approval of the race track was done by Charlie Whiting on 1st September, 2011.