India Sports

November 2011 Sports News

International Sports Events in November 2011

Pakistan-Sri Lanka Test series
Pakistan clinched the three-Test series 1-0 after the third and final Test, played in Sharjah, ended in a draw.

World Cup
US team of Matt Kuchar and Gary Woodland has won the World Cup, 2011, giving USA its 24th victory in the event. US has won the title after a gap of eleven years.

Presidents Cup
Tiger Woods clinched the Presidents Cup for USA at Royal Melbourne Golf Club.

Sixth ATP World Tour Finals title
Roger Federer has won the title with a victory over France's Jo-Wilfried Tsonga. With this win he moved ahead of Pete Sampras and Ivan Lendl on the list of Tour Finals champions in the 100th final of his career.

Federation Cup
Czech Republic defeated Russia 3-2 to win the Fed Cup and clinch the country's first title as an independent country.

South Africa-Australia Test series
Mitchell Johnson turned out an unlikely hero with the bat as Australia won a thrilling game to level the Test series against South Africa at the Wanderers. Australia lost eight wickets in their quest to chase down a difficult target of 310 in the second and final Test but got there eventually with Johnson remaining unbeaten on 40 and debutant Cummins not out with 13. The two-Test series ended with a score line of 1-1.

Earlier, South Africa had defeated Australia by eight wickets in the first Test, which was one of cricket's most topsy-turvy Test matches.

India Sports News in November 2011

Delhi Half Marathon
Ethiopia's Lelisa Desisa won the Airtel Delhi Half Marathon in a sizzling 59 minutes and 30 seconds. He bettered 2010 winning time of 59.38. Desisa was followed by Kenya's Geoffrey Kipsang with 59.31 while his compatriot, Mike Kigen took the third place with 59.58.

Among women, Luch Kabuu of Kenya kept her pre-race promise of winning but missed breaking the meet record by 10 seconds. Kabuu clocked 1:07.04. The record stands at 1:06.54 in the name of Kenya's Mary Keitany which was created in 2009. Defending champion Aselefch Mergia of Ethiopia, led for most part of the race but finished third.

Suresh Kumar won the overall Indian Athlete (men) category. Lalita Babbar was the overall Indian Athlete (Women) title winner.

Women's World Championship

Yifan Hou of China retained the title after Koneru Humpy of India settled for a draw in the must-win eighth round game.

38th National Women Premier Championship
Grandmaster Mary Ann Gomes clinched her maiden National title after she drew her final round game against Kiran Manisha Mohanty.

Ashwin gets Sardesai award
Ravichandran Ashwin has been bestowed the Dilip Sardesai award for being "India's best cricketer in 2011-12".

Rahul Dravid gets Polly Umrigar trophy
Veteran batsman Rahul Dravid has been awarded the Polly Umrigar award for India's best cricketer, 2010-11. Dravid, who scored 1258 runs in 15 Tests, at an average of 53 in 2010-11, pulled off six hundreds during the year.

Dhoni becomes India's most successful keeper
Indian skipper M.S. Dhoni bagged his 199th victim in 62 Tests, when he stumped Kraigg Brathwaite of West Indies in the first Test against West Indies 2011 tour to India, and surpassed Syed Kirmani (198 from 88 Tests) to become India's most successful Test wicket-keeper.

India-West Indies Test series
India clinched the three-match Test series against the West Indies after crushing the hapless visitors by an innings and 15 runs in the second match to take an unassailable 2-0 lead.

V.V.S. Laxman's unbeaten 176 (his 17th ton) took his tally at Eden Gardens to 1217 from 10 Tests-the most by an Indian at a single venue. Only Don Bradman (128.5 at Melbourne) and Greg Chappell (11.8 at Brisbane) average more after at least 10 innings than Laxman at Eden (110.6).

Earlier, India had defeated West Indies by five wickets in the first Test played in New Delhi.

The third and final Test, played at Mumbai, ended as a draw with scores level. Chasing 243 for a win on the last day, India reached 242 for nine and only for the second time in history of the sport, a Test was drawn with scores level.

Ravichandran Ashwin scored 103 to become only the third Indian to post a century and take 5 wickets in a Test. The other two were Vinoo Mankad (against England in 1952) and Polly Umrigar (against West Indies in 1962).

World Championship
India thrashed United Kingdom 44-17 to lift the women's title. In the men's section, India defeated Canada to lift the cup. The finals were held in Ludhiana, Punjab.

Rathore equals world mark
Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore equalled the world record to win gold in the double-trap event at the first Asian Shot-gun Shooting championships, held in Kaula Lumpur.

Last Updated on 7/9/2012