India Sports

February 2011 Sports News

International Sports Events in February 2011

Asian Winter Games, 2011
The 7th Asian Winter Games were held at Astana and Almaty in Kazakhstan from January 30 to February 6, 2011. It was the first time that Kazakhstan hosted such a large event since independence from the Soviet Union.

Featuring 11 disciplines of alpine skiing, bandy, biathlon, cross-country skiing, freestyle skiing, figure skating, ice hockey, ski orienteering, ski jumping, speed skating and short-track speed skating, among which bandy and ski orienteering were non-Olympic, the Games saw the host country Kazakhstan making history by winning the most gold medals (32 of the 69 on offer) and the most medals in total (70) to leave their rivals way behind. Kazakhstan was followed by Japan, South Korea and China in the medals tally.

The 2017 Asian Winter Games will be held in Sapporo, Japan. These Games were originally scheduled for 2015. However, in the Olympic Council of Asia's general assembly in Singapore the committee decided to move the Games within one year before the Winter Olympic Games.

Australia-England ODI series
Australia wrapped up an emphatic 6-1 series win over England with a comprehensive 57-run win in the seventh and final ODI held at Perth.

Sri Lanka-West Indies ODI series
Ajantha Mendis and ThisaraPerera shared seven wickets as Sri Lanka posted a 26-run win over West Indies in the third ODI to clinch the series 2-0. Sri Lanka had one the second ODI by eight wickets while rains washed out the first ODI.

India Sports News in February 2011

National Games, 34th
A spectacular air show and a musical extravaganza marked the closing of the 34th National Games, held in Ranchi, Jharkhand.

The Champion Services Team received the Raja Bhalendra Singh Trophy. Manipur retained the Best State Trophy.

Richa Mishra and Veer Dhaval Khade were declared the best athletes.

The medals tally was headed by Services, followed by Manipur, Haryana and Maharashtra. Jharkhand finished 5th in the medals tally.

Duleep Trophy
South Zone bulldozed North Zone to win the Duleep trohpy final by seven wickets.

SAIL-Nehru Champions College Hockey tournament, 18th
Sri Guru Hari Singh College, Sirsa, Haryana, has clinched the title by defesting Lyallpur Khalsa College, Jalandhar, Punjab.

Last Updated on 7/9/2012