India Sports

ICC Cricket World Cup 2015

Cricket World Cup 2015 Points Table Cricket World Cup 2015 Match Results

ICC Cricket World Cup 2015

The 11th ICC Cricket World Cup, i.e., the ICC Cricket World Cup 2015 will commence from 14th February and will culminate at the Melbourne Cricket Ground, Australia on 29th March 2015.

Host countries

The championship is scheduled to be jointly hosted by Australia and New Zealand. This is in fact the second time that these two countries will be hosting the world's biggest cricketing event; the first time was in 1992 when Pakistan had won the championship.

Both Australia and New Zealand had originally bid to host the World Cup in 2011. Even though the International Cricket Council (ICC) was highly impressed with the considerable merits of the bid, the hosting rights was ultimately granted to the Asian block as they had won the bid by seven votes to four. However, the efficiency of the Trans-Tasman bid was such that it won them an opportunity to host the next World cup (2015).


The ICC annual conference held in Hong Kong in June 2011 decided that a total of 14 teams will be scheduled to play in World Cup 2015. The 10 test playing nations of ICC are automatically qualified to play in the tournament. The associate and the affiliate members of the ICC will play ICC Cricket World Cup qualifying programme and top four teams? amongst these will get to participate in the Mega event.

The format for playing the games remains the same as in 2011. The fourteen teams taking part in the competition will be divided into two groups of seven who will play against each other until the top four teams from each group qualify for the quarter finals. The formatting of the tournament has been done in such a way that each team gets to play a minimum of six matches even if they exit the group stage.

Quick Facts

The ICC Cricket World Cup is organized every four years by the International Cricket Council. The inaugural world cup championship was hosted by England in 1975. In fact, England has hosted the cricket World cup four times, but does not have a single World cup title in its name despite reaching the finals thrice.

The organizers of ICC Cricket World Cup 2015 have retained the same venues as in 1992 for hosting the two semi-finals and the finals. The semifinals will be played in the SCG in Sydney and Eden Park in Auckland, and the finals will be held in the MCG in Melbourne where a crowd of nearly 87,000 people watched Pakistan win their first ever world cup in 1992.

Christchurch, the city devastated by an earthquake in 2011, will host the inaugural match between New Zealand and Sri Lanka on 14th of February. India will play its first match against arch rival Pakistan in Adelaide the next day. Interestingly, India has never lost to Pakistan in any of the World cup matches so far.

A total of 49 matches will be played in 44 days across 14 cities with Australia staging 26 matches and New Zealand 23 matches. Among the four qualifying teams for World cup 2015, Ireland has already qualified as a result of a tied match against Netherlands that was held on 9th July 2013. The 49 matches will be played across different time zones spanning six hours as daylight savings time will come into effect. The matches scheduled in New Zealand will be played three hours ahead of Australia.

ICC has announced that New Zealand will be given $US 1 million to re-establish its offices destroyed by the earthquake in Christchurch.

Sydney Cricket GroundSydney, New South Wales48000
Melbourne Cricket GroundMelbourne, Victoria 100016
Adelaide OvalAdelaide, South Australia53500
Brisbane Cricket GroundBrisbane, Queensland42000
WACA GroundPerth, Western Australia24500
Bellerive OvalHobart, Tasmania16000
Manuka OvalCanberra, ACT13550
Eden ParkAuckland, North Island of New Zealand60000
Hagley OvalChristchurch, South Island of New Zealand12000
Seddon ParkHamilton, North Island of New Zealand30000
McLean ParkNapier, North Island of New Zealand22000
Wellington Regional StadiumWellington, North Island of New Zealand36000
Saxton OvalNelson, South Island of New Zealand6000
University OvalDunedin, South Island of New Zealand6000

Cricket World Cup 2015 Teams/Groups

Pool APool B
England South Africa
Sri LankaPakistan
BangladeshWest Indies
New ZealandZimbabwe
ScotlandUnited Arab Emirates

Last Updated on : February 18, 2015