India Sports

Asia Cup 2016

India defeated Bangladesh in the Asia Cup 2016 final by 8 wickets. Before that India won the toss and elected to field first. The match was reduced to 15 overs per-side due to rain. India got a target of 121 runs which was chased down for the loss of just 2 wickets.

Player of the match (Final) - Shikhar Dhawan (India)
Player of the series - Sabbir Rahman (Bangladesh)
Most runs Scorer - Sabbir Rahman (Bangladesh)
Most wickets Taker - Al-Amin Hossain (Bangladesh).
Coolest player : Virat Kohli (India)

A. C. C. Asia Cup, popularly known as the "Asia Cup", is a One Day International or O. D. I. men's cricket tournament. Along with the establishment of the Asian Cricket Council or A. C. C. in the year 1983, this was started in order to promote friendliness in between the different Asian countries. Initially planned to be held on every 2 years, the 1st O. D. I. took place in Sharjah in 1984. However, later A. C. C. decided to hold this cricket tournament biennially from 2008 onwards.

This year, the 13th edition of the A. C. C. Asia Cup, is supposed to be held in the country of Bangladesh. It is the 5th opportunity of the country to host this international event. The teams participating in this year's Asia Cup are as follows:

  • India
  • Bangladesh
  • Pakistan
  • Sri Lanka
  • UAE

Previous Winners of Asia Cups

Over the years, different cricket teams from different parts of Asia have won this prestigious international cricket tournament. Names of the winners of those earlier Asia Cups along with some of the basic details about the result of those matches are provided in the below mentioned table:

S. No.Year of A. C. C. Asia CupWinning TeamResult Details of the Winning TeamWon By
12014Sri Lanka261/5 in 46.2 overs5 Wickets
22012Pakistan236/ 9 in 50 Overs2 Runs
32010India268/ 6 in 50 Overs81 Runs
42008Sri Lanka273 in 49.5 Overs100 Runs
52004Sri Lanka228/ 9 in 50 Overs25 Runs
62000Pakistan277/ 4 in 50 Overs39 Runs
71997Sri Lanka240/ 2 in 36.5 Overs8 Wickets
81995India233/ 2 in 41.5 Overs8 Wickets
91990 - 1991India205/ 3 in 42.1 Overs7 Wickets
101988India180/ 4 in 37.1 Overs6 Wickets
111986Sri Lanka195/ 5 in 42.2 Overs5 Wickets
121984India188/ 4 in 46 Overs6 Wickets

Last Updated on March 2, 2016