India Sports

October 2011 Sports News

International Sports Events in October 2011

Sri Lanka-Pakistan Test Series
Kumar Sangakkara hit his eighth double hundred while Prasanna Jayawardene notched up a fighting century to salvage a draw for Sri Lanka in the first Test against Pakistan, played in Abu Dhabi.

Pakistan beat Sri Lanka by nine wickets in the second Test played in Dubai.
Bangladesh-West Indies ODI Series
Bangladesh lost the first two ODIs but came back in the third and final match for a consolation 8-wicket win. West Indies were bundled out for their second lowest total of 61 runs in the third ODI.

Durand Cup
Churchill Brothers regained the Durand Cup after a gap of one year by defeating Prayag United 5-4 via tie-breaker.

DLF Masters
Himmat Singh Rai has clinched the Rs 95-lakh DLF Masters title, played at the DLF Golf and Country Club, Gurgaon.

Hero Open Championship
David Gleeson of Australia has won the Hero Indian Open championship, played at the Delhi Golf Club

India Sports News in October 2011

Senior Women's National Championship
Haryana bagged the overall title with three gold medals, two silver and two bronze. Manipur came second while Railways finished third. The championship was held in Bhopal.

India-England ODI Series
India defeated England by 95 runs in the fifth and final ODI, played at Kolkata, to sweep the series 5-0.

Irani Trophy
The Rest of India team lifted the trophy for the sixth consecutive time, crushing Rajasthan by 404 runs.

Champions League
Mumbai Indians defeated Royal Challengers Bangalore by 31 runs at the M. Chidambaram stadium, Chennai, to win the Champions League.

NKP Salve Challenger Trophy
The final match between India Red and India Green ended in a dramatic tie and both sides were declared joint winners.

Super Cup
East Bengal defeated I-League champions Salgaocar via shoot-out to win the Cup. The tournament was held in New Delhi.

Surjit Hockey Tournament
Air India Mumbai clinched the 28th Indian Oil Servo Surjit Hockey tournament by defeating holders Indian Oil Mumbai 4-2.

Indian Grand Prix
German double world champion Sebastian Vettel won the inaugural Indian Grand Prix, held at the Buddh International Circuit, Greater Noida. He also became the youngest driver at 24 years of age to achieve the grand slam by winning the race.

Raid de Himalaya
Manali driver Suresh Raina, along with co-driver Ashwin Naik, of Team Thunderbolt won the 13th Raid de Himalaya Rally for the sixth time.

Ronjan defends shotgun world cup title
Ronjan Sodhi created history by becoming the first Indian to defend a World Cup title in shooting. He retained the title when he got the better of China's Hu Binyuan in the championship held in UAE.

National Championship
Men's Singles title: Yuki Bhambri
Women's Singles title: Rutuja Bhonsle.

Last Updated on 12/14/2012