India Sports

T20 Cricket World Cup Umpires 2012

The International Cricket Council (ICC) announced the panel of umpires for the upcoming 2012 ICC World Twenty20 championship in Sri Lanka from September 18 to October 7. The 12 Elite Panelists include Billy Bowden, Steve Davis, Aleem Dar, Kumar Dharmasena, Ian Gould, Marais Erasmus, Tony Hill, Nigel Llong, Richard Kettleborough, Asad Rauf, Rod Tucker, Bruce Oxenford and Simon Taufel. The elite panel of ICC T20 Umpires 2012-2013 has two new entries this year - Nigel Llong and Bruce Oxenford.

Nigel Llong
The elite panel of ICC T20 Umpires 2012-2013 will be joined by Nigel Llong from July 1, 2012. Billy Doctrove will be replaced by this 43-year-old Englishman. In the beginning of June, Doctrove announced to retire from the elite panel. Llong was born on February 11, 1969, in Ashford, Kent. He has been an umpire for 12 Test matches, 55 ODIs and 16 T20s. In 2002, he was chosen for the International Umpires' ICC Panel. This 43-year-old's international umpiring debut was in the second-ever T20I, which was between Australia and England at Southampton on June 13, 2005.

Llong had his first ODI for the match that followed this summer between Sri Lanka and England at Lord's. Two days later that, he had his Test match to be umpired in Dunedin between Bangladesh and New Zealand. When he was a player, this left-handed batsman was Kent's off-spinner from 1990-1998. Llong had played first-class 68 matches. In this, he had taken 35 wickets and scored 3,024 runs. He had performed his best in 1993, when he scored 943 runs in a total of 18 matches on a 42.86 average.

Bruce Oxenford
2012 ICC World Twenty20 Sri Lanka has another new entry for the International panel of umpires - Bruce Oxenford. The 52-year-old has been a part of eight Tests matches, 11 T20Is and 34 ODIs. Oxenford is one of those six umpires, who were asked to stand alongside ICC Cricket World Cup 2011's elite panelists and their work was identified as the talented and emerging match official.

The match would have referees - Jeff Crowe and Ranjan Madugalle. Both these referees are from ICC's Elite Panel of Match Referees. Match referee Graeme La Brooy will be for the same event for women.

More details on the match referee and umpire, and their appointments for 2012 ICC World Twenty20 in Sri Lanka will be out when the tournament is closer.

The 2012-2013 umpires' panels and 2012 ICC World Twenty20 Sri Lanka was finalised by a committee, which included ICC General Manager (Cricket) David Richardson. ICC's Chief Match Referee Ranjan Madugalle, former elite panel umpire Srinivas Venkataraghavan, and former player, umpire, coach and now a TV commentator David Lloyd.

ICC Umpires' Elite Panel for 2012-13 as of June 2012

Billy Bowden7017019
Aleem Dar7414918
Steve Davis3611114
Kumar Dharmasena9353
Marais Erasmus124113
Ian Gould277215
Tony Hill319317
Richard Kettleborough9183
Nigel Llong125516
Asad Rauf439517
Simon Taufel7117226
Rodney Tucker19268

Last Updated on 9/27/2012