India Sports

T20 World Cup 2012 Broadcasters

The international cricket championship of Twenty20 cricket is called as International Cricket Council (ICC) World Twenty20 (T20) or the T20 World Cup. ICC organises this event. This tournament has 12 teams and all ten Full Members of ICC are qualified automatically. The other two spots are contested by ICC World Twenty20 Qualifier. This event takes place once in every two years. This year's T20 World Cup will be the fourth competition in Sri Lanka on September 18 to October 7, 2012.

After taking bids from various nations those interested in holding Twenty20 World Championship, ICC's executive committee votes the tournament's hosts. South Africa was the host in 2007, England was in 2009, West Indies in 2010 and the next 2012 will be held in Sri Lanka.In the year 2014, Bangladesh will host ICC World Twenty20 Championship and in 2016, India will host the championship.


The production partner and global media for International Cricket Council for the events from 2007-2015 are given to ESPN STAR Sports (ESS). This eight-year period has 18 ICC tournaments, two ICC Cricket World Cups in Asia (2011) and Australasia (2015), and three ICC Champions Trophy tournaments. The first two ICC World Twenty20 events have already taken place in South Africa (2007) and England (2009). The four ICC U/19 Cricket World Cups, Cricket World Cup qualifiers and the first time ever Women's World Cup along with two tournaments are planned for eight years. ESS will broadcast - Qualifying Finals, Preliminary Final, Tournament Final - and six important matches in total for the ICC T20 World Cup 2012.

Apart from ESS, the broadcasting partner for International Cricket Council (ICC)'s Twenty20 World Cup 2012 is Sri Lanka Broadcasting Corporation (SLBC). The opening match will be between Sri Lanka and Zimbabwe on September 18, 2012, in Hambantota at Mahinda Rajapaksa International Cricket Stadium. SLBC will provide ball-to-ball commentary in three languages - English, Sinhala and Tamil.

Scotland's Quipu TV will also broadcast 14 Group Stage Matches for the tournament. Ireland's Setanta Sports will broadcast six matches in all, including the qualifying finals, preliminary final and tournament final. Ireland's RTE will only highlight the qualifying finals and eliminations. Afghanistan's Lemar TV will broadcast all the Qualifiers in Pashto.

Other Broadcasters are Isle of Mann and United Kingdom's BSkyB, Middle East & North Africa's Arab Digital Distribution - CricOne, sub Saharan Africa and South Africa's SuperSport, Pakistan's Pakistan Television PTV, and New Zealand's Sky Network.


ESS has a 50-50 joint venture between two major satellite and cable broadcasters in the world. This is Asia's only complete content provider and sports broadcaster. It delivers a variety of regional as well as international sports. ESS has 15 networks in 24 countries, which are ESPN Asia, ESPN India, ESPN China, ESPN Taiwan, ESPN Philippines, ESPN Singapore, ESPN Hong Kong, MBC-ESPN (Korea), STAR Cricket, STAR Sports India, STAR Sports Asia, STAR Sports Hong Kong, STAR Sports Southeast Asia, STAR Sports Taiwan and STAR Sports Singapore.

STAR Cricket

STAR Cricket is a part of ESPN-STAR network. It is 24-hour cricket channel, which majorly targets the Indian audiences. Fox International Channels and STAR TV own this channel. This channel showcases all the cricket action taking place globally and broadcasts it live. One can also prerecord the regional and international cricket events. One can also gain access to magazines, reality shows and cricket news updates. It is STAR Sports' spin-off cricket channel.

Last Updated on 9/27/2012