India Sports

T20 Cricket World Cup Winners

YearWinnerRunner Up
2014Sri LankaIndia
2012West IndiesSri Lanka
2009PakistanSri Lanka

South Africa hosted first ICC World T20 in 2007, and India became the champions that year. Man of the tournament was Afridi and Yuvraj Singh, in an over, had hit a series of sixes, which Stuart Broad had bowled. In 2009's tournament held in England, Pakistan won over Sri Lanka. Man of the tournament 2009 was Dilshan. The third champion of World Twenty20 was England, held in West Indies. After the fourth tournament to be held in 2012, Bangladesh will host the 2014 ICC World T20.

This year's International Cricket Council (ICC) World Twenty20 is the fourth competition yet to be held in Sri Lanka from September 18 to October 7, 2012. ICC has already posted the match schedule on its website. An Asian country will be holding this tournament for the first time. ICC has chosen Sri Lanka's pacer Lasith Malinga as the tournament's event ambassador. ICC World Twenty20 Qualifier's runners-up, Afghanistan, will join England and India's group. ICC World Twenty20 Qualifier's champions Ireland are in West Indies and Australia's group. The remaining two groups are Bangladesh, Pakistan and New Zealand, and South Africa, Zimbabwe and Sri Lanka.

This year's format matches the 2010's edition. This format will have four groups in three. Along with 10 nations playing test cricket will have two more associate or affiliate teams, qualified from ICC World Twenty20 Qualifier 2012 organised on March 13-14, 2012, in United Arab Emirates. Then, each group's top two teams will go to the tournament's Super Eight stage, which will have two groups. These top two teams will play the semi-finals match. Then, the winners of semi-final will go for finals, which will be played at Mahinda Rajapaksa International Stadium. Thus, we would get the winner of this final as our 2012 Twenty20 cricket's world champions.

Last Updated on 10/8/2012

comments powered by Disqus