T20 World Cup 2014

The T20 World Cup 2014, the fifth world cup of the T20 cricket format, is going to be organized in Bangladesh. The tournament starts on 16 March 2014 and will continue till 6 April 2014. This is a biennial event and is being organized for the second time in an Asian country, after Sri Lanka in 2012. The tickets are available online through official websites (www.icc-cricket.com and http://www.icctravel.net, in case you want to buy tickets as part of tours and travel packages) provided by concerned authorities. The first phase of tickets sale was from 16 November 2013 to 31 December 2013, while the second phase of ticket booking starts on 1 February 2014.

The ICC World Twenty20 Bangladesh 2014 will be hosted in four cities of Bangladesh: Dhaka, Chittagong, Sylhet, and Cox's Bazar. The first three venues will host the Men's T20 World Cup, where 39 matches will be played in total. Cox's Bazar will host the Women's T20 World Cup, where 15 matches will be played. To accommodate for unforeseen circumstances, the organizers have decided to keep the Khan Shaheb Osman Ali Stadium in Narayanganj as reserve venue. This stadium, along with Cox's Bazar Stadium, will also host practice matches.

Teams to play the ICC Twenty20 World Cup 2014

In total, 16 teams will play in the tournament, among which 10 are full members and 6 are associate members. On the basis of ICC T20 Championship rankings of 8 October 2012, the top 8 teams have already been selected in the Super 10 stage. These are: Australia, India, England, West Indies, Sri Lanka, South Africa, Pakistan, and New Zealand. Also, 8 teams have qualified for group stage games: Afghanistan, Zimbabwe, United Arab Emirates (UAE), Netherlands, Nepal, Ireland, Hong Kong, and Bangladesh. The top 2 teams among these 8 teams in the group stage advance to the Super 10.

Levels of Tournament and Schedule

The teams in the Group A of group-stage games are Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Hong Kong, and Nepal. The teams in the Group B of group-stage games are Zimbabwe, Netherlands, Ireland, and UAE. Group-stage matches start on 16 March 2014 and continue till 21 March 2014.

Group stage games will be followed by Super 10 matches, having Group 1 and Group 2. Group 1 teams are New Zealand, England, Sri Lanka, South Africa, and winner of Group B in group stage matches. Group 2 teams are Australia, West Indies, Pakistan, India, and winner of Group A in group stage matches. Super 10 matches will start on 22 March 2014 and will continue till 1 April 2014.

This will be followed by knockout stages, including semi-finals and the final. The first semi-final will be played on 3 April 2014 between winner of Group 1 and the runner-up of Group 2. The second semi-final will be played on 4 April 2014 between the winner of Group 2 and the runner-up of Group 1. The final will be played on 6 April 2014 at the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium or the Mirpur Stadium at Dhaka.

T20 World Cup 2014: Quick Facts

Host NationBangladesh
Date of First Match 16th March 2014, Sunday
Date of Last Match "6th April 2014, Sunday"
Time period of the ICC 20-20 World Cup22 days
Total Number of matches35
The defending ChampionsWest Indies
Number of teams participating 16
India's Rank in the ICC 20-20 rank-list.3

Last Updated on : January 16, 2014

comments powered by Disqus