India Sports

London Olympics 2012 Participating Countries

The 2012 London Olympics will begin in midsummer on July 28, 2012 and will end the next month by August, 12, 2012. The Olympic Games are being hosted by the city of London after a long time and that's the reason, it is referred to as "London 2012" for all official, marketing and advertising purposes. Olympic Stadium, which is built by Populous, the architects would be the center of attraction throughout the Games and opening ceremony and closing ceremony both would be held here.

Danny Boyle would be the director of opening ceremony and he would showcase the rich musical heritage of Great Britain during the grand event. The Queen of Great Britain will attend the opening ceremony. The motto of the Olympic Games is "Inspire a Generation." Around 204 countries are expected to participate in London 2012, of which 185 countries have already been declared qualified.

It is going to be a big event and the total number of participating athletes may exceed 10, 500. They are going to compete and exhibit their skills for 26 odd sports and around 300 scheduled events during the Games. IOC Executive Committee has withdrawn the membership of the Netherlands Antilles Olympic Committee, but Dutch Antillean qualifying athletes would be allowed to participate independently.

Here is the list of some of the countries which are participating in the games.

The countries, which have qualified from Africa are:
Algeria, Botswana, Cote d'Ivoire, Liberia, Libya, Madagascar, Mali, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal, Seychelles, Djibouti, DR Congo, Egypt, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gabon, Ghana, Guinea, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Congo, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Sierra Leone, Angola, Morocco, Rwanda, Benin, South Africa, Sudan, Tanzania, Tunisia, Uganda, Zambia, and Zimbabwe.

The countries, which have qualified from Asia are:
Bhutan, Cambodia, China, Chinese Taipei, Lebanon, Malaysia, Mongolia, Myanmar, North Korea, Oman, Azerbaijan, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, South Korea, Sri Lanka, Syria, Tajikistan, Thailand, Turkey, Turkmenistan, United Arab Emirates, Uzbekistan, Vietnam, Yemen, Hong Kong, India, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Japan, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Pakistan, Palestine, Philippines, and Afghanistan.

The countries, which have qualified from the Caribbean are:
Puerto Rico, Bahamas, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Barbados, Saint Lucia, Belize, San Marino, Bermuda, Trinidad and Tobago, Cayman Islands, Panama, American Samoa, Peru, Antigua and Barbuda.

The countries, which have qualified from Australia and Oceania, are:
Dominican Republic, Fiji, El Salvador, New Zealand, Grenada, Palau, Guam, Papua New Guinea, Guatemala, Samoa, Guyana, Vanuatu, Jamaica, Solomon Islands, Nicaragua, and Maldives, Cook Islands, Costa Rica, Cuba, Australia, Dominica, British Virgin Islands, Haiti, Virgin Islands, Honduras, and Nauru.

The countries, which have qualified from North America are:
United States, Canada, and Mexico

The countries, which have qualified from South America are:
Colombia, Ecuador, Paraguay, Suriname, Uruguay, Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, and Venezuel

The countries, which have qualified from Europe, are:
Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russia, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Ukraine, Austria, Belarus, Belgium, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Albania, Andorra, Armenia, Norway, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Maldives, Malta, Moldova, Monaco, Montenegro, Netherlands, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Denmark, Estonia, France, Finland, Georgia, Germany, Great Britain, Greece, and Hungary.

Last Updated on 8/6/2012