India Sports

Arjuna Awardees in Boxing

Boxing is enjoyed in India by the masses and that's the reason that despite the fact that India does not have any world class boxing player, Indian boxers are consistently winning medals in the international events. India's Mary Kom won the best boxer title in 2007, with continuous three titles. She has also won a bronze in London Olympics 2012.

India's boxing star Vijender Kumar secured a bronze medal in the middleweight category in the Beijing Olympics 2008. The other Indian boxers such as Akhil Kumar and Jitender Kumar also qualified for the quarterfinals. The contingent of Akhil Kumar, Jitender Kumar, A.L. Lakra, and Dinesh Kumar secured a bronze medal each at the 2008, World Boxing Championship. Vijender Kumar ranks on top in the world in the middleweight class category.

Ever since, the Bombay Presidency Amateur Boxing Federation (BPABF) came into existence in 1925, Mumbai became the heartland of Indian amateur boxing and many championships of repute started being organized there on a regular basis. According to the experts, the constitution of Indian Amateur Boxing Federation (IABF) in 1949 would not have been possible without the role of the BPABF. Mr. H.V. Pointon, the ex-president of BPABF, who was a boxing enthusiast, was a great visionary as well. He was instrumental in the formation of Indian Amateur Boxing Federation during his tenor from 1944 to 1948 as president of BPABF. Mr. H.V. Pointon had to leave India after the British period was over, before IABF became fully functional in 1949.

Major F.G. Baker later handled the position of convener-secretary of IABF, when it was inaugurated. Mr. Oscar H. Brown, the then President of the BPABF was elected as the first president of the IABF during a crucial inaugural meet. The newly constituted IABF set up its first administrative office at Majestic Hotel in Bombay and Bombay city thus became the hub of its activities later on. The IABF decided to organize its first ever national championship at the Brabourne Stadium in Bombay, in 1950.

During the initial days of IABF, it was actively contributed by the Bengal Amateur Boxing Federation (BABF) as a major chunk of the excellent boxers during the time came from around Calcutta. However, BABF was not satisfied with the people at the helm of affairs at the inauguration of IABF, since BABF was not briefed or informed about the details of it. Earlier, IOA had assigned BABF the task of conducting the screening of the Indian boxing contingent in 1948 to represent India in London Olympics, 1948.

After the woman boxer MC Mary Kom from Manipur, India, successfully bagged bronze for the country in London Olympics 2012, a wave of cheerfulness and national pride swept across India. Though, the boxers in men's category could not come up to expectations, there are high hopes in the next Olympics from a few of them, especially Vijender, who lost narrowly to his rival due to the lack of tactical onslaught according to the new rules of scoring. Mary Kom also deserves more than what she got at London Olympics. The mother of two children, Mary Kom lost to British Nicola Adams, who is also world number two in 51kg category. Mary Kom was supposed to play in another weight category, which was not included in London Olympics.

List of Arjuna Award Winners in Boxing

1961L. Buddy D' Souza
1962Hav. P. Badadur Mal
1966Hawa Singh
1968Hav. Dennis Swamy
1971Hav. Muniswamy Venu
1972Hav. Chandranarayanan
1973Hav. Mehatab Singh
1977-78B.S. Thapa
1978-79C.C. Machaiah
1979-80B. Singh
1980-81Issac Amaldas
1981Hav. G. Manoharan
1982Hav. Kaur Singh
1983Jas Lal Pradhan
1986Jai Pal Singh
1987Seeva Jayaram
1989Gopal Dewang
1991D.S. Yadav
1992Rajender Prasad
1993Manoj Pingale
1993Mukund Killekar
1995V. Devarajan
1996Raj Kumar Sangwan
1998N.G. Dingko Singh
1999Gurcharan Singh
1999Jitender Kumar
2002Mohammed Ali Qamar
2003Ms. M C Marykom
2005Akhil Kumar
2006Vijender Kumar
2008Verghese Johnson
2009L. Sarita Devi
2010Dinesh Kumar
2011suranjoy singh
2012Vikas Krishan

Last Updated on 10/09/2012