India Sports

Champions League T20 2013

The 2012 Champions League Twenty20 (CLT20) will be the fifth edition of the Champions League Twenty20 cricket tournament. This year the tournament will take place in India from 17 September to 6 October 2013 and Karbonn Mobiles will be the title sponsor.

The tournament will feature a qualifying stage. Six teams will participate in the qualifying stage, from which only two teams will advance to the group stage where they will join eight direct contestants. The top four teams from the group stage will advance to the knockout stage. The qualifying and group stages will have teams divided into two equal groups, with each playing a round-robin tournament and the top two teams of each group will advance to the next stage.

The knockout stage will have two semi-finals; with the top team of one group will face the second from the other group. The semi-final winners will play the grand final to conclude the winners of the tournament. The points which are awarded in the qualifying and group stages are as follows, 2 points for winning, 0 points for losing and 1 point for draw.

The prize money will remain the same as previous editions. The total prize money for the tournament is US$ 6 million. Each team will receive a participation fee of $500,000. The prize money will be given as follows: $200,000 to each team which got eliminated in the group stage, $500,000 to each semi-finalist, $1.3 million to the runners-up and $2.5 million to the winner.

The organizers initially considered hosting the tournament in India, but later changed their decision due to the risk of monsoons and festive celebrations. The organizers chose South Africa as the host nation and the venues where the matches will take place are: Cape Town, Johannesburg, Centurion and Durban.

The teams that will be participating in the 2012 Champions League Twenty20 are: Perth Scorchers and Sydney Sixers from Australia; Highveld Lions and Titans from South Africa, Delhi Daredevils; Kolkata Knight Riders, Mumbai Indians and Chennai Super Kings from India and two teams which will advance from the qualifying stage.

Last Updated on 19 August 2013